Skip to content

Help Me Rhonda, Help Help Me Rhonda

December 27, 2011

I have to start off by saying that if you don’t know the song that my title is from I’m not sure if we can be friends.  Oh I kid- but it is one my favorite Beach Boys songs.  I grew up listening to the Beach Boys and “Rhonda” and “Barbara Ann” were always my favorite.  Of course I totally thought that it was Boba Ran for years, but that’s neither here nor there.

I’m currently battling what will go down as The Cold of 2011 and since my throat hurts and I can’t talk very well I figured I’d go ahead and blog (blog post #799 for those keeping track at home!).

We have a new member of our family, but before I introduce Rhonda the Honda you should probably go here and read about his last car Boo (which apparently I was spelling wrong for 13 years!  I also have to add that between that post and last week he managed to put a total of 214,000 miles on old Boo).

Old Boo was an oldie, but goodie and this is what she looked like on the fateful night she was traded in:

Apparently Boo likes to talk long walks on the beach because this is the picture the dealership put up to sell Boo:

1998 Chevrolet Malibu Vehicle Photo in Denton, TX 76210

Boo’s been gone for almost a week and, as much as Hubs loves Rhonda, he does still miss his Boo and I think he’s going through the stages of grief, but I know that he’ll pull through.

Especially when he gets to drive this to work every day:

She’s a 2009 (because Hubs will never, ever buy a brand new car.  It’s against his religion or something.  Something about depreciating thousands of dollars when you drive it off the lot) and she’s got things that Boo didn’t have, a sun roof, 6 disc cd player, working gear shift- just to name a few.

After a lot of research, thought, 2 other test drives- and yes prayer (this was our prayer request in our last home group- we really wanted to make a wise decision) Hubs found his new dream girl. Although Hubs was convinced that Boo was the Jack Bauer of cars and would never ever die (and we’ve just begun Season 2 of 24 so if Jack Bauer does die in the last episode or something please don’t spoil it for me!).  And she was a really good car, but she needed 4 new tires and the check engine light was on, again.

We decided that we would rather be in a proactive decision rather than a reactive decision when it came to getting a “new” car and Hubs started looking.  We both really like Rhonda and feel totally at peace with our decision and we’re all happy to welcome her to the family.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2011 6:31 pm

    Wow, I had no idea this day would come so soon. This is such a huge change – it’s going to take some time for me to get used to….

    Actually, Thomas (the van) left us last week, and Bullet (an older, actually three years newer than T, Grand Prix) will be joining us at the end of the week. Do you think O will be driving Rhonda? Our plan is for M to take Bullet in about eek 3 short years.

    Rhonda is a beauty! Will he let you drive her?

  2. canearl permalink*
    December 27, 2011 8:01 pm

    Will he let me drive her? He doesn’t have a choice :)! We think that it should last at least 10 more years so Owen will most likely get it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

